SportsVingegaard sentences the Tour de France in the 17th stage, won by...

    Vingegaard sentences the Tour de France in the 17th stage, won by Felix Gall

    Felix Gall has won the 17th stage of the Tour de France. The Austrian cyclist has won alone in the 166 kilometers of a hard day in the mountains between Saint-Gervais Mont-Blanc and Courchevel. Gall has taken the stage after going with the leading group of the race from kilometer 56. The breakaway group came to take up to 3 minutes from the main group, in which Jonas Vingegaard was riding, which he managed to extend to 7 minutes and 35 seconds his advantage over Tadej Pogacar in the fight for the lead and practically leaves the Tour sentenced.

    Read Also:   Fritz runs over (and compromises) Nadal in the Masters Cup

    This Wednesday’s day was one of the last opportunities for the Slovenian to close the gap with the yellow jersey, who started the day almost two minutes ahead of the Pogacar rider. The Emirates rider dropped from the main group 15 kilometers from the finish, unable to keep up. Shortly after, Vingegaard started alone and managed to cut time with the head of the race and leave the Slovenian without options.

    The stage has been characterized by the climb of almost 30 kilometers to the top of the Col de la Loze, one of the main challenges of this Tour. In the fight for third place on the podium, Carlos Rodriguez has stuck to the wheel of Adam Yates for most of the stage, but he has not been able to close the gap with the Englishman to recover the third place that he gave up in the time trial on Tuesday .

    Read Also:   Tiger Woods withdraws due to injury from Augusta Masters

    Stage classification:

    Position Runner Equipment Time
    1 F.Gall AG2R Citroen Team 4:49:08
    2 S. Yates Team Jayco Alula +34s
    3 P. Bilbao Lopez Bahrain Victorious +1:38s
    4 J.Vingegaard Jumbo-Visma +1:52s
    5 Mr Gaudu Groupama-FDJ +2:02s

    General ranking:

    Position Runner Equipment Time
    1 J.Vingegaard Jumbo-Visma 67:57:51
    2 T.Pogacar UAE Team Emirates +7:35s
    3 A. Yates UAE Team Emirates +10:45s
    4 C. Rodriguez Cano Ineos Grnadiers +12:01s
    5 S. Yates Team Jayco Alula +12:19s

    You can follow EL PAIS Sports on Facebook and Twitteror sign up here to receive our weekly newsletter.

    Read Also:   Federer announces his retirement at the age of 41

    Source: EL PAIS

    This post is posted by Awutar staff members. Awutar is a global multimedia website. Our Email: [email protected]


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    twenty + 4 =

    Subscribe & Get Latest News