SportsJonas Vingegaard is crowned unbeatable in the Tour de France for the...

    Jonas Vingegaard is crowned unbeatable in the Tour de France for the second consecutive year

    Jonas Vingegaard has won the Tour de France for the second time in a row. He has sentenced the French round with the classic triumphant walk through the streets of Paris, where Jordi Meeus has been crowned the winner of the stage upon reaching the Champs Elysees. Tadej Pogacar, on fire in the last 40 kilometers of the day and unbeatable with the white ‘jersey’ for the fourth consecutive time, has not endured the final stretch of the Tour -despite having won the penultimate stage-, and has been left with the second step of the podium, next to Adam Yates, who has consolidated third position. Diminished by the crash in the penultimate stage, Carlos Rodriguez -second in the youth classification- finished the Tour fifth, despite having maintained third position in the general classification during some of the stages. Just behind in sixth position, Pello Bilbao, who broke the 100 consecutive stages without a Spanish victory in the competition. As for the rest of the classifications, Giulio Ciccone has already confirmed his victory in the mountains classification during the penultimate stage, and Jasper Philipsen has placed himself as the best sprinter with the green ‘jersey’.

    Read Also:   Gino Mader dies after his fall in the Tour of Switzerland

    The final stage started with 150 runners at the National Velodrome in Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines -which will host the track cycling events in the 2024 Olympic Games- and ended in the last 700 meter dash to the Champs Elysees, where the winners of the race and competition were crowned. A flat stage of 115.1km of exhibition and truce, of a triumphal walk and of fight between the sprinters. There have been eight teams that have completely finished this Tour de France, while others, such as Cofidis and Movistar Team, have been the most depleted: only four cyclists from each have managed to reach the end of the route.

    Read Also:   When and where to follow Luis Enrique's call for the 2022 Qatar World Cup

    Vingegaard will not rest after the Tour victory. He will participate, for the second time since 2020, in the Tour of Spain. Despite not being on the shortlist for the Jumbo team, the Danish cyclist will ride co-leader with Primoz Roglic, the reigning Giro d’Italia champion and also a three-time winner of the Spanish round. The Tour of Spain has already confirmed the presence of Remco Evenepoel, the last winner of the race, the Spanish Juan Ayuso and Geraint Thomas. Enric Mas, after finishing second last year, will also attend the Vuelta when he recovers from his fall during the first stage of the Tour de France, which left him out of the competition.

    Read Also:   Tour of Spain 2022: stages and route | Sports

    You can follow EL PAIS Sports on Facebook and Twitteror sign up here to receive our weekly newsletter.

    Source: EL PAIS

    This post is posted by Awutar staff members. Awutar is a global multimedia website. Our Email: [email protected]


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    sixteen − eleven =

    Subscribe & Get Latest News