NewsEuropeNATO signs accession protocols for Sweden and Finland

    NATO signs accession protocols for Sweden and Finland

    The 30 countries took a key step to bring both Nordic countries into the Alliance, but they will be full members until the accession process is completed.

    The 30 ambassadors of NATO countries signed on Tuesday (05.07.2022) in Brussels the accession protocols of Finland and Sweden, a key step for their membership in the Alliance, although they will not become full members until the accession process is completed.

    The signing took place in the presence of Finnish Foreign Minister Pekka Haavisto and Swedish Foreign Minister Ann Linde, NATO said in a statement.

    Read Also:   Russia declares Emergency in Arctic over Massive Diesel Leakage 

    “It’s a good day for Sweden and Finland, and a good day for NATO,” Stoltenberg said at the start of the ceremony. “Today we will formally sign the accession protocols. This marks the start of the ratification process,” he added.

    The signing was given the green light after Turkey last week lifted its veto against both Scandinavian countries after securing a greater commitment on counter-terrorism.

    Three-way negotiations facilitated by NATO Secretary-General Jens Stoltenberg and his team culminated last week in Madrid with an agreement that ends a month-long blockade by Ankara and paves the way for Stockholm and Helsinki to join the organization.

    Read Also:   Macron and Al-Sisi discussed Ukraine, Iran and the Middle East
    This post is posted by Awutar staff members. Awutar is a global multimedia website. It serves as a source of News, Business, Opinion, Analysis, Sports, Health, Fitness, Technology, Education, Travel, and More. If you want to get in touch with us write via: [email protected]


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    three + 5 =

    Subscribe & Get Latest News